Brian Crower FCW – Making the Better Good, Gooder, Good-er.

When I first got the crankshaft I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the piece and the craftsmanship. BC does all of their milling and machining in house and they came out with an exceptional product. I was however aware that there could be some fitment issues and that it was possible the crankshaft was not a simple drop-in component. Be forewarned that if you do indeed purchase this crankshaft, modifications to the crankshaft, or, your engine components will be required.

I took the time to look for well experienced and well represented machinists in my community and I found a Gem. Gord Bush of Gord Bush Performance is a milestone performance engine shop specializing in engine builds varying from Ferrari’s to Nascar spec’d Big Blocks. His knowledge of import engines impressed me, as did his facilities.

With respect to the crankshaft work, I had been told by another well experienced machinist, Jay Ruffer a.k.a. Titec2, (the person from whom I actually purchased my crank from as he was one of the original members of the first FCW group buy back in 2006) that some modifications to my Main Bearings as well as my Rod Bearings might be required. Through my research, I discovered that it is not too uncommon for domestic crankshafts to require chamfer cut bearings. This is due to the fact that the machining tolerances of BC are different than that of OEM. The difference in the machining allotted for different radii between the counterweight masses and the journal surfaces. As such this would mean that the bearing’s would need a chamfer to compensate for the change in radii.

I think Number 4 in the following image directs you to the chamfer that I’m talking about.

At this point I had spoken to Gord about the chamfer situation and he proposed that the best way to properly chamfer the bearing was to prepare a jig. The jig would mount the bearing in the proper position as the required material was being cut. I was a bit disappointed that this required all that machining work just to work on the bearings. As the Rod Bearings and Main Bearings are a different size, the setup would require 2 jigs to properly position the bearings for the work needed.

Turns out Gord Solved that for me without all the machine work and I am thankful for his expertise in the matter.

More to come.

– Billy

About awdaltima

Architect
This entry was posted in Technical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

